Blurred Lines By Lauren Layne ~ BLOG TOUR

BL_Cover

Released August 25, 2015  

Loveswept

CLICK HERE to follow the blog tour

In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Todaybestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.

Lauren Layne is one of my favourite new adult authors. Seriously, she has wrote some of my ‘omg this is why I love new adult / romance’ books. She creates these perfect little love stories that have me all mushy inside and they are so realistic as well. Hands down. That’s why I absolutely had to read this.

If yall know my book reading tastes then it isn’t a mystery that I’m a complete and absolute sucker for the romances that have been brewing for a long time, those that re defined first with friendship. It’s what makes them so real and it’s why I enjoy indulging in them. And this is a story about friendship more than anything. When you don’t really see what’s been right there in front of you the whole time.

Parker and Ben have been roomies for quite a while now. Parker’s been in a committed relationship for around five years and Ben…well Ben’s the hit it and quit it kinda guy. One night and on to the next one kinda situation. But they always valued their relationship too much to try anything which might have them losing each other. But then Parker gets dumped…and things slightly change, Parker wants to be a women version of Ben. And a couple of bad situations later, they try the whole friends with benefits kinda thing. Yep, never a good idea that is.

I think this story was reality more than anything. The whole situation where friendship is truly more important and that sometimes it’s just better to take it to the next level rather than be with someone who you’re not connected to that deeply. After years of just friendship, it was truly difficult for Parker and Ben to see past the lines and realise that it may just be okay to take it further. But you have to be prepared for all the drama which may follow, because it was definitely unavoidable!

I liked the characters and how they were presented. I don’t think Parker was your typical new adult heroine and I don’t think Ben was either as both had a normal childhood and no baggage or doubt in themselves you know, as a lot of characters in books do. It was pretty refreshing to read something so normal and reality based, and I don’t think there is a flaw to be found with these two wonderful characters. I love how amazing they were to each other, and the importance they held for each other as well. Truly a wonderful thing to read about.

It was a quick and likeable read. However there was just one downside, which wasn’t regarding the story exactly. The storyline was pretty spot on, it had all the right features and elements but I just thought it was a little short and had it been longer, I think it would have blimming perfect. I also think it’s difficult trying to compare it to the other Lauren Layne books, but it was still a pretty good read and I really enjoyed it.

I think if you’re after an enjoyable light read then this is the perfect read in that group. The writing and story is pretty great. I recommend reading this story about two friends who get stuck between friendship and something more.

BL_Teaser01

There’s also an awesome rafflecopter giveaway where you have the chance of winning a LOVESWEPT mug, a FLIRT mug and some ebooks including Crushed by Lauren Layne! DON’T MISS OUT; CLICK HERE

BOOK PURCHASE LINKS:

AMAZON l BARNES&NOBLE l ITUNES l KOBO

You can also connect with the author to keep up with the latest news regarding her books…

WEBSITE l FACEBOOK l TWITTER l GOODREADS

HAPPY READING!

 Blog tour hosted by Tasty Book Tours

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s